Program Info:Return

(CHMR FM Music Department)

NewFound Records - Ep. 557 - 1980 Part 1

Vinyl records by Newfoundland & Labrador's pioneer recording artists.


NewFound Records Show Series Detail List All Series

  » # Episodes: 204
  » Most Recent: 10 Jul, 2020
  » Website:
Length: 0:55:00
Uploaded: 5 Mar, 2020

Recording Date: 5 Mar, 2020
Recording Location: CHMR-FM, St. John's, NL
Logsheet: logsheet_232203.pdf
Language: English
Topical for: Timeless
Status: Complete, Ready to Air

Program Title: NewFound Records - Ep. 557 - 1980 Part 1
Description: For this episode, we roll back the clock forty years to 1980.

Brian Peckford was Premier of Newfoundland & Labrador. His government issued a blueprint for economic development stressing greater provincial control over resource development. The first female members of the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary were sworn in. Terry Fox left St. John’s on a cross-country walk to raise money for cancer, and Christoper Pratt designed a new provincial flag to replace the Union Jack.

Musically forty years ago, if you were in the market for the latest Newfoundland-related records, what choices did you have? Tune in to this episode of New Found Records and hear an eclectic mix of those recordings which first hit the bins in 1980.

(Part 1)

Host(s): Wayne Tucker
Featured Speakers/Guests:

Credits: 1. PETER FRANCIS QUINLAN: Shock Absorber
2. 12 GUAGE: I Saw You On the Telephone
3. CROSSWALK: Cloudy Day
4. CHRIS GILLARD: Just You and I
5. TERRY KELLEHER: Greys and Blues
6. DICK NOLAN: Newfoundland That's What You Mean To Me
7. DAVE & AUBREY: In My Arms Tonight
8. BOBBY EVANS: Without You (How Can I Live)
9. ROY PAYNE: Old Hank Always Makes Me Cry
10. COREY & TRINA: Silver Threads and Golden Needles
11. DICK GARDINER: I’m Counting On You Baby
12. KEVIN BEANLAND: Paddy On The Turnpike and The Old Man & The Old Woman


Regional > Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador
Arts and Culture > Music > Folk & Roots
Type: Weekly Program

File Information
(h:mm:ss) 0:55:00
Host: Wayne Tucker NFR 557 (2020 03-07 - 1980 Pt 1) Download (7)
NF_Records_Ep557_2020-03-07.mp3 132,419k
320kbps Stereo
Comments: Break 1: Starts 11:51 Ends: 12:45 Length 00:54. Break 2: Starts 28:30, Ends: 29:35 Length 01:05. To air on CHMR Mar. 7, 2020. Researched & produced by Wayne Tucker. www.chmr,ca

Listen All